The SSFA strives to bring the filmmaking community in Singapore together, from the first-timers to veteran professionals, as evident in the nominees.

"Last year, it was very exciting, with student nominees sat together with our Guest of Honour, Eric Khoo. And to have renowned filmmakers like Sun Koh and previous Honorary Award recipient, Royston Tan, watching the nominated films as well, it definitely brings about an atmosphere of camaraderie," says Ms Aishah Abu Bakar, The Substation's Moving Images programme manager.

"It has been an arduous task to select the various nominees for the different categories. This year, we are very thrilled to add a new category - Best Experimental Film, to the list of awards. This is to give this genre its due recognition, like Best Documentary and Best Animation," says experimental filmmaker, Mr. Victric Thng. Mr. Thng was on the jury panel for last year's awards, and this year was appointed as one of the pre-selection committee members.

Ms. Yuni Hadi, Partner of Objectifs and independent film curator adds, "The SSFA allows us to have an overview of how much work has been done annually in the short film genre in Singapore. The first SSFA was a great success in bringing together the veterans and the young talents as a community, creating space for networking and sharing. We look forward to discovering exciting new blood in the second SSFA."

The SSFA is an independent effort by two major Singapore film contributors - The Substation and Objectifs - who have garnered the support of the local film community to make this event happen. This year's SSFA supporters and sponsors include production company The Shooting Gallery Asia, post-production house Infinite Frameworks and Hand Burger. Filmmaker Jack Neo will honour the event as Guest-of-Honour.

All film entries and nominees will be screened at The Substation Theatre from 28 February to 6 March 2011. Full schedule is available here. Admission is by donation. No advanced booking of tickets is necessary.

The Awards will be held on 6 March 2011 by invitation.

Download press release here.